• .
  • .
  • .
  • .
  • .
  • .
  • .
  • .
  • .
  • .

» girls aloud

The Dolly Rockers

Posted on by Mikey Moscow in Статьи, Интервью, Музыка | Leave a comment

«Это еще что? Забрал у какой-то проститутки?» — с этими словами Даниэль возвращает испачканную чем-то красным купюру продавцу. Пятница, 9 вечера. Я в районе Сохо в Лондоне в компании британского трио The Dolly Rockers: Люси, Даниэль и Софи одеты на твердую «десятку» (завтра у Люси день рождения, так что после интервью ожидает торжество). Пока что мы в крошечном магазине айфон-чехлов: покупаем Люси ранний подарок на день рождения, а мне покупают чехол с британским флагом. «Будешь вспомнить о Лондоне», — говорит Даниэль. Когда мы заканчиваем третировать продавца, а Даниэль — отчитывать его за высокие цены, мы отправляемся на поиски тихого уголка для интервью, что (какой сюрприз) в этом районе оказывается невозможным. В какой-то момент мы попадаем в бурлеск-клуб — после того, как Софи убеждает нас, что нас ждет «веселое транс-шоу». Все представление мы проводим у бара, наблюдая за веселящимся на сцене старичком и танцующими вокруг него женщинами среднего возраста в бикини. Наконец мы садимся в суши-кафе, чтобы начать сдобренную вином дискуссию.

К тому моменту я уже точно знаю, что не зря следил за этими девушками четыре года: с тех пор, как увидел на YouTube их уморительный ролик «Как устанавливать розетку» (ролик уже удален – скорее всего после того, как на смену Брук в группу пришла Даниэль). Все эти четыре года The Dolly Rockers остаются одним из самых (если не самым) веселых и ярких герлбендов. Тут все понятно: они совершенно естественны и честны, потому что, по сути, это просто три подруги, которые еще и занимаются музыкой (под пристальным вниманием поп-гуру RedOne). И сейчас – самое время узнать о них получше, потому что в этом году девушки наконец-то обещают представить новую музыку: со времен их колких шедевров 2009 года ‘Gold Digger’ и ‘How Did I End Up With You?’ прошло уже много времени. Девушки поставили мне одну из записанных вместе с RedOne песен, так что могу вас заверить: у The Dolly Rockers есть весьма мощные козыри в рукавах. А ниже читайте наше интервью на английском: мы обсудили работу с RedOne, тяжелые похмелья, алкогольные игры и необходимость всегда выглядеть как поп-звезды. Я был, что называется, dollyrocked.

А русская версия интервью на Rolling Stone.

Read more

Finale Aloud: Ten The Hits Tour 2013

Posted on by Mikey Moscow in Музыка, Путешествия, Без рубрики | Leave a comment

Girls Aloud O2 2013

Girls Aloud проделали долгий путь, постоянно разрушая поп-стереотипы и расправляясь с предрассудками: уже их первый сингл был вдохновлен драм-н-бэйсом, а 20-й — наследием Ибицы. Тур ‘Ten’ подошел к концу (как и вообще история группы), и теперь самое время вспомнить о трех концертах в Лондоне и Манчестере, на которые мне удалось попасть.

Жмите на «Read More», чтобы увидеть отчет, фото и видео

Read more

Звуки юности

Posted on by Mikey Moscow in Блог, Музыка | Leave a comment

Можно назвать множество причин, почему распад Girls Aloud стоит приписывать к ужасным новостям. С другой стороны есть масса причин, почему это было неизбежно, да и будем честны: они продержались куда дольше, чем мог мечтать любой из нас (да к тому же подарили нам напоследок как минимум два поп-бриллианта  — ‘Something New’ и ‘On the Metro’). Но сейчас я хочу поговорить не о том, как они изменили лицо современной поп-музыки, и не о том, как хорошо сочетались характеры девушек с гениальными идеями продюсерской команды Xenomania. А порцию закулисных сплетен мы получим в газетах – уверен, что случится это очень скоро.

И даже если химия группы осталась в прошлом, сейчас мне хочется вспомнить, как Girls Aloud повлияли на мою собственную историю. Много думая об этом последние пару дней, я (и тут же никаких сюрпризов) осознал, как сильно они повлияли на мою жизнь. И я бы не хотел видеть на их месте никого другого, ведь эти девушки были не просто «лидерами стаи». Они сами были стаей, причем стаей по-настоящему знатной.

Итак – вот то, что я вспомнил:

Как впервые услышал песню ‘Sound of the Underground’ в декабре 2002-го. Ее поставили в английском хит-параде, который транслировало радио «Монте-Карло». Я был покорен с первых же нот. Настолько, что вскоре мой брат требовал убавить звук, когда я пересматривал запись клипа на полной громкости.

Как потратил неделю в феврале 2003-го, пытаясь соорудить дома из газет и журналов подобие тюремной клетки из клипа ‘Sound of the Underground’, чтобы устроить в ней довольно своеобразное выступление на своем 13-м дне рождения. Пока что это мой единственный опыт в создании декораций.

Тем же летом я пел ‘Sound of the Underground’ на концерте в летнем лагере (то, что я не умел петь, да и слов-то толком не знал, меня не беспокоило). Если у кого-то вдруг завалялась запись того «шоу» — умоляю, выкладывайте на YouTube: это должно быть шедевром!

Примерно тогда же я создал свой вебсайт (horror-music.narod.ru до сих пор онлайн – хотя обновлять я его перестал в 2009-м, когда времени стало катастрофически не хватать). На сайте был большой раздел, посвященный Girls Aloud: я до сих пор считаю это началом моей журналистской карьеры.

В 2004-м, когда общение с одноклассниками проходило особенно туго, я утешал себя тем, что дома меня ждет новый диск Girls Aloud.

На школьной дискотеке в 2006-м я уговорил диджея поставить ‘ Something Kinda Oooh’. В то время дискотека была главным социальным событием в моей жизни.

‘Sexy No No No’ я впервые услышал в крохотном интернет-кафе в Болгарии во время моей первой самостоятельной поездки за границу: алко-турне сразу после окончания школы.

‘Call the shots’ я подпевал на 1-м курсе Института Журналистики.

К выходу альбома ‘Out of Control’ в 2008-м я написал большой материал в Billboard Russia. Это был один из первых важных пунктов в моей, тогда еще совсем зеленой, журналистской карьере.

Разумеется, группа была «рядом» и во время своего перерыва:

Строчка ‘I won’t fall out of love’ из песни Шерил ‘Parachute’ крутилась в моей голове в конце 2009-го — во время, пожалуй, самого сложного периода в моей личной жизни. Песня особо не помогла, но Шерил  и сама не сильно следовала своим советам!

На лучшей вечеринке в Нью-Йорке я столкнулся с Надин и провел с ней удивительный вечер – то был пик моей волшебной поездки в Штаты летом 2011-го.После нее моя жизнь сильно изменилась (к лучшему, конечно же). К слову, официальным саундтреком той поездки была песня Николы ‘Disco, blisters and a comedown’, которая очень точно передала атмосферу моей жизни в Нью-Йорке: бесконечные вечеринки, сплошное счастье и постоянные приключения.

С невероятно талантливой Maya von Doll я сдружился после того, как сообщил ей во время интервью, что восхищаюсь ее работой над сольной пластинкой Николы.

И, наконец, я претворил в жизнь свой давний план: впервые приехать в Великобританию именно на концерт Girls Aloud. Если точно, то на три концерта. И остался в восторге от каждой минуты этой поездки.

Для нас шестерых это был напряженный, но по большей части счастливый забег. И что бы ни случилось дальше, мои теплейшие чувства к Girls Aloud останутся со мной. Я всегда буду любить эту уморительную команду, мешавшую скандалы с весельем, грусть с поддержкой, китч с гламуром, а однажды – серебряное с серебряным. Потому что им, четно говоря, «было совершенно плевать».

Спасибо вам, девушки.

Girls Aloud в Harper’s Bazaar

Posted on by Mikey Moscow in Интервью, Музыка | Leave a comment

Летом 2011-го я в прямом смысле слова столкнулся с прекрасной ирландкой Nadine Coyle — 1/5 лучшего герлбенда в истории Girls Aloud. Дело было на вечеринке «On Top» в Нью-Йорке: кутили мы всю ночь, а потом провели большое интервью. Часть этой беседы попала в февральский номер Harper’s Bazaar Russia — аккурат к началу турне группы ‘Ten’ в Великобритании (на которое я, разумеется, сейчас и лечу). Ниже — журнальная страница, а полную версию интервью покажу чуть позже.

 photo hb-feb13-2_zps03293c35.jpg
Я даже попал в раздел «Авторы» — это всегда приятный бонус.

 photo hb-feb13-1_zpsce6eabba.jpg

Интервью с Robyn

Posted on by Mikey Moscow in Статьи, Интервью, Музыка | Leave a comment

В этом году в Москве прошло удивительно много отличных концертов, и выступление Robyn на Карнавале Martini стало вишенкой на концертном торте-2012. К тому же кроме яркого выступления, она уделила внимание журналистам и дала несколько интервью (несмотря на простуду). Так мне удалось пообщаться с одной из самых ярких поп-звезд современности для The Village.

Читайте интервью по ссылке выше, а в английской версии сайта (кликайте по флажку справа вверху) вы сможете прочитать нашу беседу в оригинале. А под «More» — мои снимки с концерта.

Read more

Поп-дел мастер: Интервью с Димитрием Тиковым

Posted on by Mikey Moscow in Статьи, Интервью, Музыка | Leave a comment

Моя беседа с французским поп-продюсером Димитрием Тиковым (Dimitri Tikovoi) была совершенно спонтанной. Я общался с Maya von Doll (из SohoDolls) перед ее сольным концертом в Москве в марте, когда выяснилось, что она приехала с Тиковым (он теперь живет в Лондоне), своим продюсером и коллегой по роскошной пластинке Nicola Roberts. «Давай пообщаемся, как только я закончу с Майей», — радостно предложил я человеку, в чьей дискографии можно найти множество роскошных песен, начиная альбомом Placebo ‘Meds’ и заканчивая ‘If I Can’t Dance’ Sophie Ellis-Bextor (одной из ее лучших, но недооцененных песен). Разумеется, особенно сильно меня интересовали планы Тикового на будущее, и мне даже вроде бы удалось вытянуть из него небольшой комментарий о грядущем воссоединении оригинального состава Sugababes. Считайте этот поп-эксклюзивом.

Я составил небольшую заметку из интервью для апрельского номера русского ‘Rolling Stone’ — она ниже.

Photobucket

А полное интервью дальше.

Read more

• .
  • .
  • .
  • .
  • .
  • .
  • .
  • .
  • .
  • .

» girls aloud

The Dolly Rockers

Posted on by Mikey Moscow in Articles, Interviews, Music | Leave a comment

“What is that? Did some hooker give it to you?” – Daniele returns the red-stained note to the seller. It’s Friday night around 9pm and I’m in London’s Soho with the The Dolly Rockers – British pop trio with Lucie, Daniele and Sophie rocking their ‘girly rockstars’ image to the perfect ten (it’s Lucie’s Birthday tomorrow, so there’s a celebration to be had after our interview). Right now we’re in a tiny iphone-cases-store: Lucie’s getting her 1st ever iphone cover as an early Birthday present and I get one with the British flag – ‘Something to remember from London’ as Daniele put it. Once we’re done harassing the seller and Daniele’s done lecturing him on his ridiculously high prices, we’re off to find a quite spot to chat which (how surprising) turns out to be impossible in that area. At some point we stop at a random burlesque show as Sophie convinces us it’s a ‘fun drag show’. We stay at the bar for the whole show (which involves a very amusing-looking old fella and several middle-aged women in bikini dancing around him) and then re-locate to a sushi spot for a wine-filled conversation.

By then I knew by fact that I was right about following these girls’ career for the last 4 years – ever since I saw their hilarious ‘how-to-wire-a-plug’ YouTube video (which is sadly offline these days – most likely due to the fact there was a line-up change with Daniele replacing Brooke). 4 years into the game and The Dolly Rockers are still one of the (if not simply The) funniest and most colorful girlbands out there. The trick here is rather obvious: there’s nothing fake or manufactured about the trio, as they’ve basically three friends who just happen to also record music together (under control of pop guru RedOne). And now’s the good time to get to know the girls as they promise to finally release new music this year: it’s really been too long since their 2009’s tongue-in-cheek classics ‘Gold Digger’ and ‘How Did I End Up With You?’. And as the girls played me one of their new RedOne-produced songs, I can assure you: The Dolly Rockers have some pretty sick bangers up their sleeves. You can read our interview below: there’s all you need to know about working with RedOne, killer hangovers, drinking games and the importance of looking like a proper popstar at all times. Getting dollyrocked felt way too good.

Also the Russian version of the interview is at Rolling Stone.

Read more

Finale Aloud: Ten The Hits Tour 2013

Posted on by Mikey Moscow in Music, Travel, Без рубрики | Leave a comment

Girls Aloud O2 2013

From drum’n’bass-inspired debut single to Ibiza-friendly 20th one, it was a long journey of crossing all the pop boundaries while consistently having fun for Girls Aloud. Their ‘Ten’ tour is now over (as well as their times together) and I bring you my own report from the 3 tour dates I’ve attended.

Hit more for tons of photos, videos and my report.

Read more

Sound of the adolescence

Posted on by Mikey Moscow in Blog, Music | Leave a comment

There are many reasons why Girls Aloud’s split is horrible news. There are also tons of reasons behind the decision and, let’s face it, it lasted way longer than any of us ever dreamt (and also recently gave us at least two pop diamonds  – ‘Something New’ and ‘On the Metro’). But right now I don’t want to talk about how they literally changed the face of modern pop music or how incredibly well girls’ personalities blended with Xenomania’s state-of-art ideas. We will hopefully get our dose of behind-the-scene gossips in the papers soon enough, too.

And even if the band’s chemistry ended up not being completely untouchable, right now I want to remember how Girls Aloud shaped my own story. Thinking about it for the last couple of days I remembered a lot and (without any surprise, really) realized how much they affected my life. And I wouldn’t want anybody else in their place, as, well, they weren’t just the leaders of the pack. They WERE the pack and a truly remarkable one.

So these are the key moments I remembered:

Hearing ‘Sound of the Underground’ on the broadcast of UK chart show on Moscow’s ‘Monte Carlo radio station in December 2002 and immediately falling in love with it. A bit later recording the music video and playing it so loud, my brother would order me to turn it off.

Spending a whole week in February 2003 re-creating a cell’s wall from ‘Sound of the Underground’ video from magazines and newspapers for a very special performance in my room during my 13th Birthday. That’s been so far my first and last attempt at production design.

Then performing ‘Sound of the Underground’ at some concert in my summer camp (without really knowing the lyrics or having any vocal talents). If anyone magically finds a recording of that ‘show’ – please put it on YouTube: that’s truly a camp’s gold!

Starting my own music website the same summer (horror-music.narod.ru and it’s still on – although I gave up updating in around 2009, when my career took over) with a big section dedicated to Girls Aloud. I consider this my first journalistic experience.

Comforting myself with the thought of a new Girls Aloud CD waiting for me at home when things would get too intense in school in 2004.

Making a DJ spin ‘ Something Kinda Oooh’ at my high school’s discotheque – the biggest social event of my life in 2006.

Listening to ‘Sexy No No No’ for the first time in a tiny Internet café in Bulgaria in summer 2007 while on my biggest party holiday ever (the one right after graduation) and absolutely loving it.

Humming to ‘Call the shots’ during my first year of college of journalism.

Writing a big article on the girls to promote the release of ‘Out of Control’ album in 2008 for Billboard Russia during the early days of my career.

Obviously, the band stayed with me even after the girls went on the hiatus:

Having ‘I won’t fall out of love’ line from Cheryl’s ‘Parachute’ stuck in my head during, perhaps, the most intense moments of my personal life so far in 2009. It never really helped, but hey, Cheryl didn’t follow her own advice either!

Bumping into Nadine at the best party I’ve ever attended in New York and sharing an amazing evening with her, which was the climax of my truly magical trip to the USA – the one that changed my life pretty dramatically (for good, of cause). My official soundtrack to the trip was Nicola’s ‘Disco, blisters and a comedown’, which summed up my lifestyle in New York in July 2011 very well: non-stop partying, pure happiness and countless adventures.

Becoming friends with insanely talented Maya von Doll after I acknowledged my love for her massive contribution to Nicola’s solo record during our interview.

And finally going to the UK for the first time this March the same way I always planned: to a Girls Aloud show. Three of them, to be exact. And loving every minute of this experience.

For all six of us, it’s been an intense but mostly happy ride. Whatever the next chapter holds for any of us, I will always cherish my feelings for Girls Aloud: hilarious girlband, that mixed scandals with fun, sadness with empowerment, camp with glamour and once – silver with silver. ‘Cause frankly they didn’t even care.

Thank you, ladies.

Girls Aloud for Harper’s Bazaar Russia

Posted on by Mikey Moscow in Interviews, Music | Leave a comment

Back in the summer 2011 I literally bumped into a stunning Irish gal named Nadine Coyle – 1/5 of the world’s best girlband Girls Aloud – at the On Top party in New York. We ended up partying all night long and doing a big interview later on. A small part of it ended up in the February issue of Harper’s Bazaar Russia – just in time for the band’s ‘Ten’ tour in the UK (which I’m obviously attending as a hardcore fan). Take a look at the magazine piece for now. The whole interview will be published soon.

 photo hb-feb13-2_zps03293c35.jpg
I even got into ‘Authors of the month’ section, which is always a nice bonus.

 photo hb-feb13-1_zpsce6eabba.jpg

Interview with Robyn

Posted on by Mikey Moscow in Articles, Interviews, Music | Leave a comment

There were tons of exciting gigs in Moscow this year and Robyn’s surprise appearance at Martini Carnival was the best way to kiss 2012 goodbye. Not only did she give us a spectacular and energetic performance, but she also took time to give several interviews the day before while fighting the cold. So I managed to have a little talk with one of the most exciting popstars of the modern times for The Village website.

How are you feeling after the flight?

I’m fine. I’ve been a little sick this week, so I’m trying to get over cold before the show.

It’s just got very cold in Moscow. I guess, it’s our way to welcome cool guests.

Maybe. But it’s cold in Sweden, too!

So you’re used to cold?

Yes.

You’re one of the first artists to try the EP-way of releasing an album – with ‘Body Talk’ being released as 3 EPs. Now everyone’s doing it – Gaga, Lana del Rey, etc. Will you stick to this formula in the future?

I think it worked well for the people who bought the music. I don’t think the record labels I work with understood how to release it, but the fans totally got it. So it’s a little bit divided between real people and industry people. I think I’ll continue with smaller releases but I don’t think I’ll ever do 3 albums in one year again. It was a lot of work and it was fun but it was tough. I’ve kinda used all of the songs I’ve written for the last 5 years. So when I start recording next year it will be really starting from scratch.

Read the rest of the interview by clicking ‘MORE’

Read more

Man behind the pop: Interview with Dimitri Tikovoi

Posted on by Mikey Moscow in Articles, Interviews, Music | Leave a comment

My interview with London-based French pop producer/genius Dimitri Tikovoi was very spontaneous. I was interviewing Maya von Doll (of SohoDolls) before her solo gig in Moscow this March. Turned out she had arrived with Dimitri Tikovoi, her producer and collaborator on Nicola Roberts (brilliant) album. ‘Let’s do an interview, once I’m done with Maya’ – I suggested to a man, responsible for a long and diverse list of marvelous tunes, from Placebo’s ‘Meds’ album to Sophie Ellis-Bextor’s ‘If I Can’t Dance’ (one of her best yet underrated songs). Obviously, I was curious about Tikovoi’s future plans and even managed to make him (kinda) comment on Sugababes 1.0 future reunion. Consider it your pop exclusive.

I wrote a short sum up of our interview for the April issue of Russian ‘Rolling Stone’ magazine, which you can see below.

Photobucket

The full interview’s under the cut.

Read more